Top 10 Deemed Universities in Chennai
1800 425 44 38 | From 9 AM to 5.30 PM (IST) | Mon. to Sat
HITSEEE 2021 Phase - II Important Dates :
Publication of Rank List HITSEEE - August 02, 2021
Counselling Dates - August 09 to 14, 2021
Work as You Study Scheme (WAYS)    I     Centre for Open and Digital Education (CODE)
About Us



  • About IQAC
  • Objective
  • Functions
  • Composition
  • AQAR

About the IQAC - HITS

Internal Quality Assurance Cell (IQAC) – HITS created under the NAAC guidelines, is an august body at Hindustan Institute of Technology and Science comprising Senior Academicians, Thought Leaders, Eminent Alumni, Industry representative, Retired and Serving Senior Academicians from institutions of repute, Management Representative and a Local Body Member. The IQAC acts as a guiding force to ensure the quality of services and undertake reforms in terms of Infrastructure and Personnel addition. IQAC meets once in three months with a set agenda, for which the inputs are sought from various stake holders such as students, teachers, parents, alumni, administration and management. The deliberations that take place goes into policy framework of the institution.


The primary aim of IQAC are

  • To develop a system for conscious, consistent and catalytic action to improve the academic and administrative performance of the institution;
  • To promote measures for institutional functioning towards quality enhancement through internalization of quality culture and institutionalization of best practices;
  • Ensuring the adequacy, maintenance and proper allocation of support structure and services;
  • Ensuring timely, efficient and progressive performance of academic, administrative and financial tasks;


The primary aim of IQAC are

  • Development and application of quality benchmarks/parameters for various academic and administrative activities of the institution;
  • Facilitating the creation of a learner-centric environment conducive to quality education and faculty maturation to adopt the required knowledge and technology for participatory teaching and learning process;
  • Arrangement for feedback response from students, parents and other stakeholders on quality-related institutional processes;
  • Dissemination of information on various quality parameters of higher education;
  • Organization of inter and intra institutional workshops, seminars on quality related themes and promotion of quality circles;
  • Documentation of the various programmes/activities leading to quality improvement;
  • Acting as a nodal agency of the Institution for coordinating quality-related activities, including adoption and dissemination of best practices;
  • Development and maintenance of institutional database through MIS for the purpose of maintaining /enhancing the institutional quality;
  • Development of Quality Culture in the institution;
  • Preparation of the Annual Quality Assurance Report (AQAR) as per guidelines and parameters of NAAC, to be submitted to NAAC.
  • Ensure heightened level of clarity and focus in institutional functioning towards quality enhancement;
  • Ensure internalization of the quality culture;
  • Ensure enhancement and coordination among  various activities of the institution and institutionalize all good practices;
  • Provide a sound basis for decision-making to improve institutional functioning;
  • Act as a dynamic system for quality changes in HITS;


1 Dr. S.N. Sridhara Vice Chancellor Chairman
2 Dr. R. W. Alexander Jesudasan Pro Vice Chancellor Vice Chairman
3 Dr.Aby Sam Director, HITS Member
Member from Academia (Teachers)
4 Dr.S.Mohan Professor, Dept.of Civil Engineering, IIT, Madras. Member
5 Dr. R.Jeyavel Director - Center for Nano Science and Technology CEG, Anna University Member
6 Dr. V. J. Philip Former Principal, Madras Christian College Member
7 Dr.GeethaSwaminathan Former Vice Principal, Stella Maris college Member
8 Dr. A. Sherine Professor & Head (Languages) & Ranking Member
9 Dr. N. Madhumithaa Assistant Professor (SG), MBA Member
10 Dr. P. Kumara Guru Assistant Professor (SG), ECE Member
Member from Senior Administrative Officer
11 Dr.Pon. Ramalingam Registrar Member
12 Dr. N.Vasudevan Dean (Engg.& Tech) Member
13 Dr. SheebaChander Dean (SPADE) Member
14 Dr.M.L.Mony Dean (SOL) Member
15 Dr. A. Prabaharan Head (Students Affairs) Member
16 Dr. K. Nanda Kumar Director (Research) Member
17 Dr. G. Ilavazhagan Director (International Affairs) Member
18 Dr. C. KeziSelvaVijila Controller of Examinations Member
19 Dr. D. Sudarasanam Head – School of Allied and Health Sciences Member
Local Society Nominee
20 Mr. D. Sahaya Lenin Assistant Professor, ECE, Professional Society Coordinator Nominee Member
Student Nominee
21 Ms. A. Rohini Research Scholar (Full Time), CSE Nominee Member
Alumni Nominee
22 Dr. E. Bhaskaran Joint Director of Industries and Commerce (Engg)., Government of Tamilnadu Nominee Member
Employers Nominee
23 Mr. Isaac Symala Gerard Chief HR Officer, HITS Nominee Member
Industrialists Nominee
24 Mr. K. Giridharan Principal Design Engineer, Urjitha Electronics, Chennai Nominee Member
Stakeholders / Parent Nominee
25 Ms. Banu M/O Mr. Aadin, Final Year , B.Tech – Auto Nominee Member
IQAC Coordinator
26 Dr. SudalaiMuthu T Associate Professor Coordinator