1800 425 44 38 | From 9 AM to 5.30 PM (IST) | Mon. to Sat
HITSEEE 2022   I
Publication of Rank List: June 20 2022(Phase-I & Phase-II)    I     Counselling Dates: June 27 to July 02, 2022(Phase-I & Phase-II)
   I   HITSCAT 2022    -
Entrance Exam Dates: June 22 to 24, 2022    I     Publication of Rank List: June 27 2022    I     Counselling Dates: June 30 to July 02, 2022

MATRIBHASHA DIWAS | Event Date: Monday, 21st, February 2022

International Mother Language Day is being observed globally on February 21 to promote linguistic and cultural diversity and multilingualism. To cherish the International Mother Language Day, Matribhasha Diwas was organised by the Department of Languages on 21 February 2022. Dr. Akkara Sherine, Head Languages & Rankings,initiated the occasionwith a welcome addressemphasizing the importance of mother language to every individual which shaped the feeling, emotion and thoughts; and further insisted on the part played by mother tongue in critical thinking. The presidential address given by Dr. S. N. Sridhara, Vice Chancellor, highlighted the importance of the mother language and how it is related with culture in an attempt to epitomize the celebration of Matribasha Diwas. Addressing the gathering, Dr. David Easow, Head SLAAS, delineated the origin of the Mother Language Day and emphasized the significance of culture calling it an identity.A parade by the students representing 7 different states of India (Tamil Nadu, Kerala, Andhra Pradesh, Karnataka, Manipur, Rajasthan, and Goa) and Ethiopia showcased the cultural and social heritage of their respective states and country. The event was taken over by ‘Kalaimamani’ Smt. Bharathi Thirumagan, the Chief Guest of the day. In her address, Smt. Bharathi accentuated the individual’scommitment towards the language and the culture. She composed a song, “Villuppattu,” on the Tamil Culture and on the attempt taken by Hindustan Institute of Technology and Science to preserve the culture, heritage and identity of every individual by celebrating the Matribhasha Diwas. On following the Chief Guest, the Guest of Honour, Dr. S. Saravanan, Professor and Head, Department of Saivasidhantha, University of Madras gave an address pointing out the significance of words in Tamil Literature. He metaphorically compared the equality of letters in “uyirmei” alphabets to the equality of men and women in the Tamil society. An overview of the competition was given by Dr. T. Sheeba, Assistant Professor, Tamil and the Coordinator of Matribasha Diwas.The event further threw lights on the Winners by allowing them to perform on the stage, followed by the prize distribution. There wereover130 entries to the competitionsfrom different states. The event came to an end successfully with the vote of thanks delivered by Ms. Varsha Nair, II Year,BA English and the President of Athena Literary Club.

No. Name of the Winners Institution Place Secured Event
1. Ms. Unnimaya Parveen
III Year,B.Sc. Computer Science.
Hindustan College of Arts and Science. 1 Folk Dance
2. Ms. Subnam Sultana
II Year,BA English.
Pratrasayer Mahavidyalaya, Bankura, West Bengal. 2 Folk Dance
3. Ms. Varsha Nair, II Year, BA English&
Ms. Nila Ellya Lama, I Year, BA English.
Hindustan Institute of Technology and Science. 1 Music
4. Ms. Kanishkaa S, I Year BA English. Satyabhama University. 1 Painting
5. Ms. Sawmundieswari, II Year, B.Com. Accounts & Finance. Hindustan College of Arts and Science 1 Poem Recitation
6. Ms. Rubina Khatun, II Year, BA Hons. Patrasayer Mahavidyalaya, Bankura, West Bengal. 1 Poem


Mr. Akshay C, III Year, Mechanical Engg. Hindustan Institute of Technology and Science. 1 Poem
8. Mr. Neeraj Vinay Potdar, I Year, B.Tech. Aerospace Engg. Hindustan Institute of Technology and Science. 1 Song
9. Ms. Perarasi Shanmugam
I Year, EEE.
SSN College of Engineering. 2 Song
10. Ms. Kamaliga, III Year BE EEE. KCG College of Technology. 1 Speech
11. Ms. Serin Xavier, I Year, B. Ed. Maths. Shoba College of Teacher Education, Alappuzha. 2 Speech
12. Mr. Kesava Moorthy, I Year, B.Sc. Viscom. Hindustan Institute of Technology and Science. 1 Silambam
13.  Mr. Theasigan, I Year,
BA Political Science.
Hindustan Institute of Technology and Science. 2 Silambam
Matribhasha Diwas.jpg