1800 425 44 38 | From 9 AM to 5.30 PM (IST) | Mon. to Sat
Bachelor of Pharmacy (B.Pharm.) - Admission Open

NATIONAL SCIENCE DAY 2023 | Event Date: Monday, 27th, February 2023

The National Science Day was celebrated every year in India on 28 February to commemorate the discovery of Raman Effect by Indian Physicist Sir Chandrasekara Venkata Raman who was awarded the Nobel Prize in Physics in the year 1930. The Department of Science and Humanities (Chemistry and Physics) celebrated this Day on 27 February 2023.on the theme “Global Science for Global Well-being.” They conducted various competitions for the first year B. Tech students. The competitions are Poster presentation conducted on 22 on the theme “Indian Scientist Contribution towards Global Well-Being”, Painting competition on 23 on the theme “The impact of Science in Global well-being”, and 5 minutes experiments on 24 on February 2023. The student’s performance was judged and appreciated by the guest of honor Dr. J. M. Mathana, Dean, Research, Prof. Dr. Prabhakaran, Head – Chemistry, Dr. Kuppan Chetty, Head – Mechatronics, Dr. Annie Aureen Albert, Dr. Angelina Geetha, Dean E & T, and Dr. Vallikannu, Head – ECE.

As part of the celebration, a guest lecture was delivered by Prof. Dr. S. Renganathan, Department of Biotechnology, Anna University, Chennai on the topic “Growth of Micro-algae – alternatives for Bio-diesel”. Dr. D. Piriadharshini, Head, S&H welcomed the gathering, a special address was delivered by Dr. Angelina Geetha, Dean E&T, and Dr. T. Ponmudi Selvan, AP, Physics introduced the chief guest. The resource person addressed the first-year biotechnology, Aeronautical, Aerospace, and CSE students, the essential of science in building engineering. He also encouraged the students and the faculties in outsourcing the research for the societal needs and his talk motivated the students to participate in more academic and research oriented events for equipping themselves as the Best Engineers.

The cash prize and certificates were distributed to the winners of the competitions.

The event concluded with the vote of thanks proposed by Dr. D. Sathya Sheeli, AP, Chemistry.


Poster Presentation:

I Place Deepa Varshini (22127023) IT
II Place Trishitha (22112206) CSE

Painting Competition:

I Place Janani E R (22112230) CSE
II Place Matthais Daniel (22112052) CSE

5 Minutes Experiment:

I Place Yuvakrishna J (22138048) and Yathiksha J (22138038)
II Place Vishal Kasi V (22102038) and Sunil Kumar (22102015)
Event Convener Dr. D. Piriadharshini, Head, Science & Humanities
Event Coordinators Dr. D. Sathya Sheeli, Assistant Professor (SG) – Chemistry
Dr. M. Chandrakala, Assistant Professor (SG) – Chemistry
Dr. Rajeswari Yogamalar N, Assistant Professor (SG) – Physics
Dr. T. Ponmudi Selvan, Assistant Professor (SG) – Physics